The Wrong Kind of Police on the Line

I don’t know what was going on with the trains this evening. The tannoy was alternating the leaf-fall timetable announcement (‘this may affect some services by a few minutes from this station’) with a slightly more relevant one about the fact that all the trains were running up to 15 or 20 minutes late, or cancelled, or both, due to ‘Police activity on the line in the Twickenham area’. ‘What do you think they’re doing?’ my colleague asked. ‘Rounding up all the leaves?’

But that wasn’t really what I wanted to blog about today. What I wanted to say – and this is aimed particularly at any passengers who use platform 3 at Vauxhall in the morning – it’s the bike, honest. It was raining when I left this morning, and my bike lives out of doors and I really can’t be bothered with the whole plastic bag on the seat arrangement because it’s just one more thing to deal with in the evening and besides, it leaves you with a soggy plastic bag to lug around all day. So I just had to try and wipe off the rain from the saddle as best I could with my gloves, and finish drying if off through sitting on it. And THAT’s what the wet patch on the seat of my trousers was from, not from anything more embarrassing.

Just so you’re clear.

4 responses to “The Wrong Kind of Police on the Line

  1. fine excuse, i’m sure! were you aware of a lot of staring at your damp patch?

  2. I think it was more paranoia than anything. This is London, you know, people don’t openly stare

Leave a Reply

