1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Senses Working Overtime

After a while, cycling in London, you get a bit of a sixth sense about what some drivers will do next. For instance, the other day as I was crossing Lambeth Bridge on my way home, cycling up the tiny little bike lane they’ve put in there, to get to the head of the traffic queue. Right at the front was a coach and, while it wasn’t actually indicating left, something made me hang back a little and wait next to a relatively safe taxi instead (taxi drivers, love them or loathe them, can generally be relied on to at least see the cyclist. Whether they like what they see is another matter). Sure enough the coach turned left right across the spot on the road where I would have been and I cycled on, feeling a little smug at my foresight.

For about three seconds. Because, of course, what happened next was a car decided to turn left right across me from the inside lane of the roundabout forcing me to slam on my brakes and question out loud the morality of the drivers’s parents. And this evening, on the same spot, a motorbike came from my left, onto the roundabout, cut slowly in front of me and crossed all the way across to the right hand lane without indicating or even turning their head. The problem is, it’s not just a sixth sense you need out there in London traffic, it’s a seventh or eighth. Either that, or some bloody good brakes.

12 responses to “1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Senses Working Overtime

  1. “and question out loud the morality of the drivers’s parents”

    This of course took the form of politely enquiring if they had maritial problems at any time? 😉

    p.s I just noticed your blue rss icon. nice.

  2. What’s wrong with a blue rss icon? In wordpress they can be any colour…

  3. Nothing is wrong at all! I was being genuine, I really like having one that matches the links. I’m fussy like that 🙂

  4. god, they could have killed you. i bet they would be sorry then eh.
    good luck john

  5. John – only if they noticed. Actually (and I may be being a bit blasé here) probably only the coach would have actually killed me, unless I was really unlucky
    AMP – oh, okay. It’s hard not to sound sarcastic on t’internet…

  6. Sound like you would benefit from cycle training …you wouldn’t be in that daft cycle lane if you had some…

    You can get it really cheap if you live in Lambeth

  7. I only use that cycle lane because it gets me past the queue of traffic … but worth a try, I’ll follow it up.

    If nothing else, it will give me something to blog about

  8. Maybe I was being sarcastic first time and second time?

    Ok, I wasn’t. But I could have been.

  9. I use that bridge regularly… there are a couple of options here…take the lane, ride as if you are a car driver keeping drivers from overtaking you, by riding in the middle of the lane…the worst that can happen is you get hooted but not squeezed. or you could overtake on the right if there is room. like a motorcyclist… as i said, training covers these points, looking forward to your blog on this.

  10. David – I would certainly love to avoid that lane as it’s insanely narrow and seems designed to send the cyclist’s wheel into the expansion joint of the bridge. Let’s see if I’ve either the courage to overtake on the outside or the patience to wait in the queue
    AMP – well come to wordpress properly (you know you want to) and you can have rss feed icons to match your links, your trainers or anything else you please…

  11. Hehe, you know my employers may not be too keen upon my defection. Actually, I’m not sure they’d notice and it is a pretty rss icon…

  12. Pingback: Frit « Disgruntled Commuter

Leave a Reply

