Is it Better to have Rushed and Missed, than Never to have Rushed at all?

OK, so I definitely wasn’t going to sleep in this morning. Definitely not. So instead I woke up at 4am and filled in the time by worrying about work (it’s funny how the same three thoughts repeated endlessly in a loop can completely occupy the brain at that hour) until aroun 5:30 when I looked at my watch, misread it as 6:30, leapt out of bed, got half way down the stairs and realised my mistake. Back in bed, I finally fell into a doze and this time it really was 6:30 when I looked at my watch again. Bah. But I wasn’t going to hurry. Hurrying would be a mistake, after yesterday. No, I just went through my normal routine but pushed back by fifteen minutes or so. I wasn’t in a hurry as I cycled to the station even though I could theoretically have caught the 7:41 and even when the lights turned miraculously green across the whole junction. Nor was I in a hurry as I bought my ticket or as I queued up to take out cash or as I bought my paper. I’d definitely missed that train. No hurry as I glanced up at the departure boards and saw the train still on it. Then I was in a hurry, all of a sudden, as I sprinted up the stairs.

I still missed it. And it’s somehow much more painful if you’ve tried…

3 responses to “Is it Better to have Rushed and Missed, than Never to have Rushed at all?

  1. I can see that you’re having one of those weeks!

  2. You might like to look at the blog entry A life in words and pictures – Waiting for the train! on
    http://rrwm.blogspot.com/

  3. Indeed I am. But not today, as I have the day off…

Leave a Reply

