Stating the Bleeding Obvious

I really should stop catching people’s eyes in London. I was cycling past one of Vauxhall’s younger down-and-outs the other day as he was sitting looking semi-comatose on a bench in the park. As I passed, inadvertantly catching his eye, a glimmer of alertness appeared on his face. I turned my head to catch his remark. ‘On your bike,’ he pronounced, with great satisfaction. I don’t know why this little exchange has stuck in my head the way it has. Probably because it was only as I was cycling off that I realised what I should have said in reply: on your bench. I can’t even get the last word with tramps…

Meanwhile, in other news, it seems my brief foray into film reviewing on Sunday got me onto the WordPress front page under ‘Entertainment’, which did my stats no harm at all. Now obviously, I would never pimp my blog so shamelessly as to write irrelevant film reviews just to see if I could repeat the trick, but if I were to include some films, what films do you think I should include? Brief Encounters? Planes, Trains and Automobiles? Throw Momma from the Train? There’s a rich seam of public transport related movies out there I’m sure.

9 responses to “Stating the Bleeding Obvious

  1. London City Soul

    “He had always found hardest to understand about humans was their habit of continuously stating and repeating the very very obvious, as in It’s a nice day, or You’re very tall, or Oh dear you seem to have fallen down a thirty-foot well, are you all right?”

    This blog was very hitchhikers guide to the galaxy…

  2. Than which there can be no higher form of praise …

  3. Trainspotting would be the first film that springs to my mind on title alone. Closing Doors is another. If we could open this up to TV series then you could also include The Rise And Fall Of Reginald Perrin, perhaps making note of his splendid excuses for being late.

  4. i don’t know, years ago the people you use to see out on the streets had a bit more character to them. a tale comes to mind of a chap called danny who liked to partake of the odd drink now and then. after a busy day asking people for money he would go to the pub and enjoy a pint or two. one day he went to his local and there was a new barmaid, he asked for a pint and when it came put down a pile of penny and twopenny coins, as she was counting the money he drained his glass and made his way to the door as she called out hey your a penny short, no he said your a penny short.
    cheers john

  5. Thomas the Tank Engine?

  6. Or indeed Ivor the Engine, anyone remember that?

    (showing my age again …)

  7. Ivor the engine rocked 😀

  8. Snakes on a Tube?

  9. disqualified on the grounds that they never actually made it …

Leave a Reply

