Ware Oh Ware

Overheard on the train:

Ticket Guy: Tickets please

Passenger: I’d like two singles to Ware

Ticket Guy: Two singles to where?

Passenger: That’s what I said.

The old ones are the best ones, don’t you think? No? Ah well, it amused me. Perhaps you had to be there.

8 responses to “Ware Oh Ware

  1. Always handy if you have nothing else to blog about!

    Cheers and have a good week.

  2. And I should make clear (after the other half doubted me) that this really happened …

  3. years ago i was on the train from oxford to paddington and a guy asked for a ticket to furze platt, it still makes me laugh when i think about it today. some words just make you laugh.

    cheers john

  4. Ah I remember Furze Platt well, from my Maidenhead commuting days …

    Furze Platt, Cookham and Bourne End, change at Bourne End for Marlow….

    *goes all nostalgic*

    It was a bit of a hole, though

  5. The notice greeting, or rather warning you, out side

    the town limits used to read-we re told:

    ‘ ware

    WARE.

    And on the way out, just as simply:

    Was

    WARE

  6. Hmmm. Reminds me of a pub up in Buckinghamshire with a sign outside when you’ve overshot:

    ‘You have just passed the Pineapple’

    painful

  7. those awful puns are guaranteed to turnham green.

    arf arf

    x

Leave a Reply

