Canine Chews Hominid

So, in what was not at all a thinly disguised advert for their services, an insurance company has revealed this morning that their survey shows bikes are often stolen in the UK – even if they’ve been locked up! (Coming up after the break: Electricity company study finds nights are on average darker than days! Winter colder than summer, vest manufacturer reveals!). Naturally, the bikes left in South London got nicked the fastest, although they don’t seem to have risked the Vauxhall underpass for this study, possibly because they ran out of bikes. The fact that the BBC – Radio 4, indeed – managed to juxtapose this story with another about the ongoing genocide in Darfur spreading into Chad only left me clutching my head in despair. How am I supposed to carve out some sort of niche for myself with the daily minutiae of relentlessly trivial transport-based stories if the Today program is doing it for me?

But fortunately others have taken the baton temporarily from my nerveless fingers. Li’lo has written a post reminiscing about her schooldays travelling on the Hounslow loop back in the 80’s. Reading it reminded me to be a bit less miserable about the schoolkids on the trains (if I can) – after all, we’ve all been there in one way or another. It also made me very glad indeed that we don’t have the slam door trains any more as you’ll see if you follow the link.

Normal blogging will resume next week, when I have regained the will to live.

4 responses to “Canine Chews Hominid

  1. Have a good weekend!

  2. Another reason to hate John Humphries. It’s probably Andrew Gilligan stealing the bikes.

  3. Moobs – you need a reason? Damn, I’ve been doing it wrong all these years

Leave a Reply

