Halfway Up the Stairs

By A.V. Annoying-Commuter

Halfway to the platform
Is the place where I stop.
Even though this blocks other people from getting to the top.
It’s not my train that’s coming,
So I’m not going to rush.
I’m just going to stop here and risk a trampling in the crush

(With apologies to A A Milne)

5 responses to “Halfway Up the Stairs

  1. doesn’t quite scan, tho’

  2. Half way down the carriage

    is where I stand

    A half exploded chapatti

    in my hand.

    A Failed Suicide Bomber is

    what they thought.

    And ‘tho’ the Fireman did not get me

    I’ll have my day in court.

    (With apologies to just about everyone)

  3. I’m halfway up the escalator, standing on the left

    crowds backed up behind me, looking quite bereft

    I’m busy day-dreaming

    on another plain

    I’m halfway up the escalator, driving you insane

  4. Gah. that’s the last time I try to out-rhyme my readership…

Leave a Reply

