Two Tales of Two Cities

I try to be fair to everybody here on Disgruntled Commuter*. So as I’m probably going to be writing a lot of ‘only in America’ stuff over the next week here’s a little ‘only in the UK’ scene I saw on my way to the airport, just for balance.

There on the crossing, just outside the newsagent, there was a victim of a hit and run lying on the road, being given aid and comfort by a passer-by. A little knot of horrified bystanders gathered at the edge of the crossing, one of whom had taken the driver’s number, the rest talking in hushed tones. An ambulance, passing by, stopped with its hazards on, the driver getting out to offer assistance. So far, so normal – a scene that unfortunately takes place in cities all around the world. The difference? The victim was a dog. I don’t think they had actually called the ambulance for the dog – but I couldn’t be 100% sure.

And then in Minneapolis yesterday afternoon, as I went back in through security with my little baggie of toiletries in one hand, with unbelted trousers and unlaced shoes, feeling more like a criminal than anything else, I noticed that some of my fellow passengers were wearing slippers. It makes a certain sense, I suppose, if you drive everywhere and people with big guns keep asking you to take your shoes off. But pink, fluffy ones?

* Except to car drivers, of course.

3 responses to “Two Tales of Two Cities

  1. It does make sense, but I’m not sure I can carry off that pink fluffy look!

  2. I’m sure you’d look adorable. Of maybe if you had those ones like animals paws?

  3. For the UK city it makes a sense because the British health system is very advanced, well not so advanced because that ambulance could have passed over some crickets in its way to save the dog. Regarding the second happening, you are not alone, my friend. I felt the same in Barajas airport, in Madrid.

Leave a Reply

