Des Res

Peering down from the top deck of a 59 bus last night the other half and I noticed a ‘for sale’ sign which some wag had left on top of the bus stop.

‘I wonder how much they want for that?’ I asked.
‘Good location.’
‘It’s a bit close to a busy road, though.’
‘Yeah, but great transport links…’

We could have gone on in that vein – in fact we probably did – but as the bus pulled away the guy in the front seat could bear it no more, turned round with a cheeky grin, and added, ‘Yeah, I went to look at it myself but found it was overlooked.’

We laughed, but for a moment I was disconcerted. He was breaking all the rules and he wasn’t even foreign, or a northerner. And then I remembered. We were talking about house prices. And that’s one conversation no Londoner can refrain from joining in …

Leave a Reply

