TGIF

If I had made a list of all the things I didn’t want in my carriage on the way home this evening after a hard week, fairly near the top of that list – after some of the more unlikely options like rampaging starving Bengal tigers (but oh what a blog that would be) – would come the presence of a couple of dozen secondary schoolkids. Sadly, the schoolkids were what I got, and a noisy bunch they were too. Please tell me I wasn’t that annoying when I was fifteen. I’m pretty sure I didn’t misspend my youth talking for hours about how to configure your GMail setup or using the phrase ‘Oh My God’ every second sentence. And I know that I never got off a train with the back half of a jelly snake sticking out of my left ear, and the front half of the jelly snake sticking out of my right ear.

Actually, now I come to think of it, the jelly snake stunt was quite amusing. But by then I was too far gone in grown-up crossness at the noise (all those squeaky voices!) to even crack a smile. Getting old…

4 responses to “TGIF

  1. A sibling has suggested that some people may have found your ideas about US Marines and Chairman Mao irritating but you did not air them in Trains as far as she can remember. Yes it is advancing age.
    For Flight Buff: Get on to Huttonian for a visual treat

  2. I agree that they seem far rowdier nowadays. No mention of broadband, I take that to be a bad sign !
    huttonian – I’ll take a look over the weekend.

  3. there is worse – a souble decker full of secondary school kids, doing what they do

  4. Seems that you’ve grown up!!! but I do agree, were we that loud and annoying at 15. As for the squeeky voices, hahahahahaha, I remeber that all to clearly – I didn’t speak to anyone for about a month!

Leave a Reply

